Narrate your spiritual experiences in the Stories format.

The Seven Heavenly Virtues and Their Meanings to Guide Your Life

The Seven Heavenly Virtues and their Meanings
The Seven Heavenly Virtues of Catechism evolved as a counterbalance to The Seven Deadly Sins. SpiritualRay focuses on each of the virtues, along with what they stand for.
Mukulika Mukherjee
Last Updated: Mar 19, 2018
Did You Know?
Each of the Seven Heavenly Virtues has a corresponding Deadly Sin.
According to Christian theology, the Seven Heavenly Virtues are the stepping stones to the glorification of the soul. They are a combination of the three Theological Virtues (Faith, Hope, and Charity) and the four Cardinal Virtues (Prudence, Justice, Temperance, and Fortitude).
The purpose of the Seven Virtues is to guide you on the path of righteousness, and keep you away from sins. In fact, they tell the virtuous what he should do, as opposed to The Seven Deadly Sins that tell you what you should keep away from.
This article provides an insight into The Seven Holy Virtues of Catechism and their meanings. The description is accompanied by a Bible verse that highlights the value of each one of these virtues.
The Seven Heavenly Virtues of Catholic Catechism
bible verse on charity
Represents Benevolence and Generosity.
Corresponding Vice : GREED
In Christian theology, Charity (or Love) is the greatest of the three Theological Virtues, the other two being Faith and Hope. Charity stands for the willingness to go out of your way to help others, even at the cost of your own self. This is the purest form of love, and is the ultimate perfection of the human spirit, as it is considered to reflect the nature of God. This love is self-sacrificial and is essential for salvation.
Bible Verse On chastity
Represents Purity, Honesty, Knowledge, Wisdom.
Corresponding Vice : LUST
The virtue of Chastity means the ability to overcome temptation and remain unaffected by Worldly Desires. You should have the courage to take a conscious decision to stay away from distractions, and not allow temptations to drive you away from the path of moral wholesomeness. It also embodies honesty―being honest to yourself, your family, and the whole of humanity.
Bible Verse On diligence
Represents Persistence, Effort, Ethics, Rectitude..
Corresponding Vice : SLOTH
The virtue of Diligence means a zealous and careful nature in one's actions and work; decisive work ethic, steadfastness in belief, fortitude, and the capability of not giving up. It means being steadfast and not allowing obstacles to discourage you or force you to quit. It implies effective time management and guarding yourself against laziness. It is also about staying true to yourself and your convictions.
Bible Verse On humility
Represents Bravery, Modesty, Reverence, Altruism.
Corresponding Vice : PRIDE
The virtue of Humility means modest behavior, selflessness, and the giving of respect. Note that this virtue does not imply self-hatred, which is a consequence of low self-esteem. On the contrary, it means being aware of your greatness, and knowing that you need not prove your greatness to the world. This virtue also means giving respect to people of wisdom.
Bible Verse On Kindness
Represents Satisfaction, Loyalty, Compassion, Integrity
Corresponding Vice : ENVY
The virtue of Kindness means charity, compassion, and friendship for its own sake. It means doing good towards one and all, and having everyone's best interest at heart, without the feelings of prejudice or resentment. It also means having a positive attitude and inspiring the same in others.
bible Verse On Patience
Represents Peace, Mercy, Ahimsa, Sufferance.
Corresponding Vice : WRATH
The virtue of Patience means forbearance and endurance through moderation, and resolving conflicts and injustice peacefully, as opposed to resorting to violence. This virtue is about choosing to forgive, as opposed to holding on to grudges or seeking revenge. Followers of this virtue readily accept the faults of others, and show mercy to sinners.
Represents Self-control, Justice, Honor, Abstention
Corresponding Vice : GLUTTONY
The virtue of Temperance means constant mindfulness of others and one's surroundings; practicing self-control, abstention, and moderation. It is the ability to judge between actions with respect to which action is appropriate at a given situation. Followers of this virtue are aware of the proper moderation between self-interest and public interest.
So, we see that The Seven Heavenly Virtues can guide us towards living a more purposeful life. We all should abide by them to make our life more meaningful and spread peace and joy in the world.